Cover of vinyl record WHERE'S THE ONE ? by artist CONGOTRONICS INTERNATIONAL



2 x LP - CRAMMED DISC - - WORLD - In stock
€ 35,95

Collectively created by the supergroup comprising Konono No.1, Kasai Allstars, Deerhoof, Juana Molina, Wildbirds & Peacedrums, and Skeletons’ Matthew Mehlan, this epic collaborative new album gathers 19 musicians from across four continents, working together to create a new musical language that combines the traditional music of the Congolese artists with the various experimental rock styles of their admirers based in Europe and the Western Hemisphere. Its 21 songs consist of live concert recordings and studio tracks produced in the years before, during, and after their Congotronics vs. Rockers tour in 2011. The tour brought these acts together for the first time—all in all, ten lead vocalists, five guitarists, three likembe players, five percussionists, two bass players (including Crammed Discs’ Vincent Kenis), and three drummers—for performances at 16 major festivals and venues in ten countries. The recording process continued remotely on and off in the years that followed until it was finalized in 2021 by Deerhoof’s John Dieterich and Greg Saunier and Crammed Discs’ Marc Hollander.

video links

You may also like